to blog or not to blog…

…that’s been my dilemma.  I’m obviously new to the world of blogging and although I’ve been playing with the idea of a blog for several months now, I wondered what I would have to offer.  There are some really wonderful blogs out there by educators and parents all around the world who share the same passion for play-based learning.  All I can share is my perspective and some of the things that are happening in my classroom.  Ideas for things I try in the classroom come from various sources including the internet and fellow teachers.  Where possible, I will cite the sources.  Of course, the most original ideas usually come from the kids, so I’m excited to see what they come up with this year.

11 thoughts on “to blog or not to blog…

  1. I’m a mom to a k-6er.. but found this from the myschool site.
    This is a fantastic blog, a great resource to parents who like to be involved in students life.

    Good luck blogging!

  2. Pingback: a new year, a few changes | crayons, wands & building blocks

  3. I just came across your blog and am so glad I did! Your posts are very informative and inspiring! I am a new kindergarten teacher and have been very inspired by reggio classrooms I have seen. It is challenging when you are first beginning to see how everything fits together (and to know where to start!) Your blog has certainly helped me to clarify (and confirm) some of my thoughts.

    I wonder if you would mind sending me a copy of your daily schedule (are you a full day kindergarten?) I am curious about how other teachers plan the flow of their day.

    Thank you so much 🙂

    • Thanks so much for your kind words Sarah. I’ll send you an outline of my day. My school is still on the half day program and we are scheduled for full-day in a couple of years.

  4. I am so inspired by the work you are doing in your classroom. In our district we are just beginning to change to PBL and play based but are desperately needing some guidance. Can you tell me who has inspired you and where your school has found professional development on the Reggio Approach? Are there speakers who have come and trained you in this approach? Are you an alternative school with specialized curriculum? Any information you are willing to share I would greatly appreciate. We are teachers who know we need to change our approach but are seeking help with this change. Thank you so much!

    • Thanks for your comments Cassandra. I get inspiration from like minded educators. We are all at different points on our journeys. There is a great PLN on Twitter as more and more educators are making the children’s learning as well as their own more visible.

      Bishop Strachan School hosts many Reggio-inspired PD sessions. You might also want to check out the Ontario Reggio Association.

      I teach in the public school system (PDSB) and follow the Ontario curriculum.

      Good luck as you begin your journey!

Leave a Reply

